top of page

Preservation Awards

Since 1988 Preservation Massachusetts has recognized the best in preservation with its annual awards program. In 2023 we will celebrate the notable anniversaries of our partners and programs and the impactful contributions they have made across the preservation community for generations to come. This year's theme of “Partners in Preservation” celebrates the individuals and organizations that have substantially contributed to our historic preservation efforts statewide.

2023 Awards Celebration
"Partners in Preservation"
October 11

Event Ticket Sales Have Closed

In honor of the Massachusetts Historic Tax Credit Program's 20th anniversary, this October Preservation Massachusetts is celebrating the landmark legislation by dedicating the 2023 Awards to “Partners in Preservation.”

In the fall of 2003, after an almost two-year effort by members of the preservation, development, and business communities, the Massachusetts Legislature passed a five-year tax credit pilot program to incentivize the rehabilitation of historic buildings.  


When the first eight applications were filed the next spring, no one imagined that 20 years later, the Massachusetts Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit (MHRTC) program would have awarded over $900 million in credits, created jobs, increased tax revenues, preserved and created affordable and market rate housing—all while reinforcing the economic benefits of preservation. It also forged new relationships among the preservation, business, and legislative communities, which remain strong today.

For 20 years, Preservation Massachusetts has led initiatives to promote, enhance, and support the MHRTC program. From increasing the annual credit cap to extending the program’s sunset date, our continued advocacy efforts help to ensure MHRTC remains a vital tool for preservation and economic revitalization.


The annual Awards Program is Preservation Massachusetts’ most critical organizational fundraiser.
With generous support from our sponsors we can continue our important work in communities across the Commonwealth throughout the year.  Click below to view and sign up for a sponsorship today!

2023 Award Announcement square.jpg

What is Partners in Preservation? 

View this year's award recipients and their connection to the MHRTC program. 

  • 1:30pm - Guests Arrive (Great Hall)

  • 2:00pm - Welcome + Introductions

  • 2:20pm - Awards Presentation

  • 3:00pm - Conclusion

  • 3:30pm - Reception (Carrie Nation)

* Tickets required for entry to both event locations. 


Allegrone Companies Logo 2.jpg
Wessling Logo.png
Grande Logo with text.jpg
JL Dunn Logo.png
Ostrow Electric Logo.jpg
SCI Anniversary H Logo-White backgrnd 123.png
bottom of page