top of page

Board of Directors & Staff

Preservation Massachusetts is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors and maintains a professional staff that collaborate on advocacy, programs and projects, and with project specific consultants, such as legislative and conference planning. We also work with partners statewide, regionally, and nationally. Our office staff work from our base in Plymouth, MA, while our Circuit Riders work “in the field,” responding directly to requests for advocacy assistance. 


Jim Igoe, Director Emeritus
Jeff Gonyeau, Circuit Rider
Stacia Caplanson, Circuit Rider

Julie Roper, Event Planner
Tracey Howell, Administrative Coordinator

Message from the Board of Directors
July 20, 2023

The Preservation Massachusetts Board of Directors congratulates Executive Director Erin Kelly Miranda, who is moving on to pursue an exciting new professional opportunity. In addition to being at the helm of the organization's day-to-day operations, over the past 20 years with PM, her contributions have included the creation of the Circuit Rider program; leadership of the annual awards program, the Most Endangered Historic Resources Program, and MA Preservation Coalition; an ongoing partnership with The 1772 Foundation; and critical legislative support for the state and federal historic tax credit programs, along with many other important preservation initiatives. We are grateful for all of her hard work and her commitment to furthering the preservation movement in the Commonwealth, and we wish her great success in this next chapter. The PM Board will conduct a search for a new executive director in the coming months. 

Board of Directors


Mary Thompson, Chair (Bank of America)

Robert Charest, Vice Chair (Boston Financial Investment Management)

Nick Ratti, Treasurer (CohnReznick)
Daniel Kolodner, Clerk (Klein Hornig, LLP)

  • Kara Anderson (Architectural Heritage Foundation)

  • Pamela Bailey (Bond Brothers)

  • Maureen Cavanaugh (PAL Inc.)

  • Josh Cohen (Beacon Communities LLC)

  • John Cornell (Nixon Peabody, LLP)

  • Maria de las Mercedes Farrando (Beacon Communities LLC)

  • John Gahan (Sullivan & Worcester, LLP)

  • Wendall Kalsow (McGinley Kalsow & Associates)

  • Douglas Kelleher (Epsilon Associates)

  • Sarah la Cour (Westmass Area Development Corp.)

  • Ryan Lynch (Shawmut Design and Construction)

  • Karen Mauney-Brodek (Emerald Necklace Conservancy)

  • James E. McDermott (Holland & Knight LLP)

  • Gordon Pulsifer (First Resource Companies)

  • Deirdre Robinson (Robinson+Cole)

  • Jon Rudzinski (Rees-Larkin Development)

  • Scott Winkler (Wessling Architects)

  • Claudia Sauermann Wu (Attorney)

bottom of page