Preservation Awards

Now Accepting Nominations for the 2022 Awards!

Do you know about or have worked on an amazing project that you think should be recognized statewide for its contribution to preservation? Nominations are now being accepted for our 2022 awards program which will be honored during National Preservation Month in May.  The program will culminated with a LIVE celebration on May 11 (more details to be released closer to the event date).

Nominations are made for the following awards:

  • Paul & Niki Tsongas Award is Preservation Massachusetts' highest honor, honoring people and projects that have displayed the highest level of commitment to historic preservation in the Commonwealth.

  • Mayor Thomas M. Menino Legacy Award celebrates projects that are transformative, catalytic, embrace the community, create partnerships, and revitalize the best of the past to make something good for the future. 

  • Robert H. Kuehn, Jr. Award recognizes projects that meld collaborative partnerships with creative and cutting-edge ideas for the rehabilitation and active reuse of historic buildings.

  • Frederick Law Olmsted Award is given to those organizations and individuals for their dedication to the promotion of our cultural landscapes.

  • Charles Eliot Award is given to organizations with exceptional vision and excellence in planning for preservation.

  • People's Preservation Choice Award is selected by popular vote by the public and announced LIVE at our awards celebration. Projects can choose to be considered for this award.  

The 2022 nomination form is an online form. We strongly suggest you use the 2022 Nomination Prep Document to prepare your answers and compile your materials prior to electronic submission. Once you begin filling out the online form there is no way to save your progress. If you feel you cannot submit a nomination using this online form, please contact Erin Kelly at

2022 Award Prep Document


Online Nomination Form

About the Preservation Awards

Each May, Preservation Massachusetts recognizes and celebrates the efforts and accomplishments of those individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to preserving the Commonwealth’s historic resources through our Preservation Awards Program. 

Since 1988 Preservation Massachusetts’ highest honor, the Paul & Niki Tsongas Award, has recognized the very best in historic preservation efforts, individuals and achievements across the Commonwealth. Our other awards include the Mayor Thomas M. Menino Legacy Award, Charles W. Eliot Award, Robert H. Kuehn, Jr. Award and the Frederick Law Olmsted Award, each honoring a specific preservation related theme, goal or project. 

2021 Preservation Awards
Click to view the digital program


2021 Award Graphic 2jpg.jpg

2021 Preservation Award Recipients
Click here to learn more and be inspired by the 2022 award winners!

Award Archive

View past awardees & themes