top of page

2022 Award Recipients

The 2022 award recipients demonstrate how preservation goes beyond historic buildings and landscapes to include our stories, our neighborhoods, and important lessons for our future.  This year our theme of Bringing Communities Together celebrates projects and people that have encouraged collaboration among the Commonwealth’s diverse constituents. 

The 2022 preservation award recipients will be honored during National Preservation Month in May. The celebration culminates on May 11 with a live event at the Fairmont Copley Plaza Hotel in Boston. 

For information on each award category, see below. To see past award recipients, visit our awards archive

Courthouse Lofts Transformation Gallery_Page_07_Image_0002.jpg
The Paul & Niki Tsongas Award

The Tsongas Award is Preservation Massachusetts' highest honor, honoring people and projects that have displayed the highest level of commitment to historic preservation in the Commonwealth.

See this year's Tsongas Award Recipients

Charles River Speedway.jpg
 Robert H. Kuehn, Jr. Award


The Kuehn Award recognizes projects that meld collaborative partnerships with creative and cutting-edge ideas for the rehabilitation and active reuse of historic buildings.

See this year's Kuehn Award recipients

Frederick Law Olmsted Award


The Olmsted Award is given to those organizations and individuals for their dedication to the promotion of our cultural landscapes.

See this year's Olmsted award winner!

Mayor Thomas M. Menino Legacy Award


The Menino Legacy Award celebrates projects that are transformative, catalytic, embrace the community, create partnerships, and revitalize the best of the past to make something good for the future. 

See this year's Menino Award recipients

08 Stainlglass and Tin Ceiling.jpg
People's Preservation Choice Award


The People's Preservation Choice Award is your chance to vote and pick this year's award winner from our field of nominees. 

Click to see the 2022 nominees and vote for your favorite!

Voting starts on April 11!

Charles Eliot Award


The Eliot Award is given to organizations with exceptional vision and excellence in planning for preservation.

See this year's Eliot award winner!

bottom of page